Skip to content

Self portrait and digital painting

May 26, 2013
tags:

No science today, just a drawing. I like to think that I’m practicing my science storytelling skills though. I hope to incorporate illustration into some of my journalism in the future. I’ve already had the opportunity to illustrate a news story on katydid ears and why they are like our own. Today–inspired by a friend— I set out to paint something.

Since I love portraits and they are hard to do realistically I did one of those. My ever-present model is myself, so that’s who you see here:

Self portrait by Marissa Fessenden

My tools: a Wacom bamboo tablet, Sketchbook pro software and my entire Beatles collection.

I followed this tutorial for painting skin and looked at this tutorial for the hair. I’m okay with my skin, but less pleased with my hair. I ended up making the shadows darker at the last minute and adding more purple to my skin. Those steps made the whole portrait better. I have a blank, boring expression because that’s easier to draw and I was focused on practicing skin. There are so many colors in skin, reflections and texture. And since we are human, we can easily see when something looks wrong. I mostly just wanted this to look like me and look semi-realistic. I can work on giving myself a more lively face in the future.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2013 5:33 pm

    Great self portrait

  2. Martha permalink
    May 31, 2013 12:25 pm

    i think your face here is plenty lively enough

  3. Martha permalink
    May 31, 2013 12:28 pm

    youi must teach me how to do this, whaaaaaaa – what is this language you speak “Wacom bamboo tablet, Sketchbook pro software”
    teach me dear niece

Leave a Reply

